India win toss, elect to bat against Australia in 2nd Test

India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in the second cricket Test at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday.

Australia have named an unchanged XI, while India have brought in Abhinav Mukund and Karun Nair. Abhinav makes a comeback to the Test side after five-and-a-half years, replacing Murali Vijay, who has suffered a shoulder injury.  Murali Vijay from Tamil Nadu sustained the injury whilst diving on an outstretched arm during the first Test in Pune, which India lost by 333 runs in less than three days.

“Indian Test opener Murali Vijay has been ruled out of the 2nd Paytm Test between India and Australia in Bengaluru starting March 4th after sustaining an injury to his left shoulder,” BCCI said in a release. “He will be further assessed and monitored by BCCI Medical Team over the coming days.”

Nair, who scored a triple century in his last Test, also gets a chance after India decided to drop Jayant Yadav for an extra batsman.


India: Abhinav Mukund, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (WC), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma.

Australia: David Warner, Mark Renshaw, Steve Smith (C), Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (WC), Steve O’Keefe, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Jose Hazlewood.